RSS

Original ideas about the project

30 Jul

I am planning to focus on research area for the project.

Since I have done some thinking about the idea about the research, there are lots of way to exploring. Information Technology is so powerful and covers so many areas in the world. Reading news about IT is also one of the things that I usually do everyday. So there are absolutely some area that I am aware of but only a little bit them. I would really like to find a topic and concentrate on deep research about it.

Here are two topics that I would like to choose as the topic of my project:

One is cloud computing, the other one is mobile device apps.

Both two of them have something in common:

  • They are both quite new in its development history
  • They are play an important role today and have great potential of development in the future
  • They could work together or separately

Cloud computing

Three thing that I know about cloud computing:

  1. Cloud computing has been widely used in business and non-business area
  2. Cloud computing is working on internet. It needs the connection between clients and servers.
  3. Cloud computing works by moving part of work from clients to servers. The works could be data storing, virus scanning, backup and so on.

Three thing that I don’t know about cloud computing:

  1. Cloud computing specific working principle
  2. Could it really bring benefit to users depending on its cost?
  3. What kinds of area that needs cloud computing technology

Three things that I would like to know about cloud computing:

  1. In what kind of environment and framework that could support its smooth operation
  2. How to make customers get completely access to cloud computing service
  3. Why it could be welly developed in the future

Mobile device apps

Three things that I know about mobile device apps:

  1. Mobile device apps are parts of the smart phone and tablet computers
  2. Mobile device apps are highly depends on mobile operating systems
  3. The quality of a mobile device operating system influence the efficiency of apps on it

Three things that I don’t know about mobile device apps:

  1. In what kind of theory that a software could be called an app
  2. Why apps could be more acceptable than softwares
  3. How to develop an app

Three things that I would like to know about mobile device apps:

  1. Can mobile device apps be seamlessly transplant to desktop devices
  2. What are the differences between developing software for computers and mobile devices
  3. Can apps replace software on desktops in the future

Upon are the things that I know and would like to research on. I hope my supervisor could give some suggestions on which on I could choose as the topic. Thanks

 
3 Comments

Posted by on 2012/07/30 in Project Post

 

3 responses to “Original ideas about the project

  1. Clare

    2012/07/30 at 18:02

    Well done Roy – thanks for completing this on time. Here are some thoughts from me.
    Firstly, I think both of these areas would be fine for further research although I think it will be slightly easier to find good literature about cloud computing as it has been around longer and more research may have been done in this area. However, mobile application development is so interesting as it is a fairly new concept. I can see that discovering what makes a good ‘app’ could be exciting.
    With cloud computing, one area you could look at might be how to increase the trust and confidence that businesses need to use cloud computing, perhaps by looking at this Code of Practice being developed in NZ – http://www.nzcloudcode.org.nz/ . Does China have anything similar? Does it need it? How well developed is cloud computing in China? (that could be another possible question!)
    With the mobile apps, I particularly like the question you have as number 2.What are the differences between developing software for computers and mobile devices? I think that could be quite a useful way to look at mobile app development and you could perhaps come up with some guidelines for app developers.
    I will continue to think about these possibilities and I believe Mary is hoping to look at them this evening and put in her thoughts/suggestions.
    I look forward to seeing you tomorrow and making a final decision (There is one question I am going to ask you tomorrow – Which one do you like best? Cloud computing or Mobile Apps? So think about that before you come to see me 🙂 )

     

Leave a Reply

 
